FAQ

Frequently asked questions

Exhibition visit

Can’t you really see anything?

The exhibition “Dialogue in the Dark” is completely lightless, which is why you actually can’t see anything.

How long does a tour last?

A guided tour lasts 60 minutes.

Am I going alone through the dark exhibition?

No, each group with max. 6 people will be accompanied by a blind guide during the entire tour. Larger groups, e.g. school classes are divided into several small groups. This is for the safety and quality of your visit.

What do I take with me to the exhibition? What not?

A long stick that you get at the entrance to the exhibition. We advise you to put on comfortable shoes. There are lockers in the foyer for glasses, cell phones, jackets, bags, etc. All objects with light – such as watches, smartphones, etc. – are prohibited in the exhibition. You need change for the DunkelBar at the end of the exhibition.

What happens if I am late?

Please be in the museum 30 minutes before the start of the tour for ticketing, cloakroom etc. If your tour has already started, unfortunately we cannot bring anyone to the exhibition afterwards for security reasons.

Food & Drinks

There are drinks in the DunkelBar at the end of your visit to the exhibition. You will need some change for this. During the corona pandemic, it is forbidden to consume food and drinks you have brought with you anywhere in the museum.   

Are there toilets in the dark?

No, there are no toilets in the exhibition. Please visit the toilets before the tour. Anyone who has to go to the toilet while visiting the exhibition is led out and cannot go back into the dark afterwards.

From how many years is a visit suitable?

From 7 years. If you visit the museum as a family, younger children can come too. It is important that no child is left alone in the foyer if they do not want to go to the lightless exhibition.

What if I feel uncomfortable in the dark and want to leave the exhibition?

You can cancel your visit to the exhibition at any time and you will be accompanied back into the light. Don’t worry, our guides are trained for the exhibition and convey security and trust.

How is security guaranteed in the dark exhibition?

Our showrooms comply with the statutory safety regulations. Our guides are trained to walk through the exhibition and for emergencies. Please always follow their hints and instructions.

Is there a risk when I get back into light?

There is no health risk. In the last exhibition room, dim light shines to gently accustom your eyes to the brightness.

Why is the KlangRaum monitored?

You enter the KlangRaum alone, without a guide. For safety reasons, there is an infrared camera in the room, which enables our staff to act and help in emergencies at any time. You can find more information in the privacy policy. You will also receive an emergency chain with a radio.

Physical impairments & accessibility

Wheelchair users are pulled through the exhibition by an additional guide. For people who use an electric wheelchair, it is necessary to switch to one of our in-house mechanical wheelchairs. This also applies to visitors with walking aids. Contact us before booking via bookingline@dialogmuseum.de to discuss details of your visit. We try to do everything necessary to enable our exhibition experience for you. This applies e.g. also for hearing impairments, deafness and pregnancy.

Tickets & bookings

Tickets

You can only visit the museum with a prior online ticket purchase or, for groups, by making a digital/telephone reservation, as each tour is accompanied by a guide for safety and quality reasons.

Cancellation & refunds

A cancellation or reimbursement of your tickets is not possible in accordance with Section 312g (2) No. 9 BGB. For goodwill inquiries, write us an email to bookingline@dialogmuseum.de. You can find detailed information in our terms and conditions for reading.

Vouchers

You can get vouchers in the online ticket shop. They are legally valid for three years from the date of issue and are not personal. You can find more information on purchasing a voucher under our terms and conditions.

Guides tours in another language

We currently offer tours in German and English. Sign up before you book to request a guided tour in a specific language.

FAQ

Häufig gestellte Fragen

Ausstellungsbesuch

Sieht man wirklich nichts?

Die Ausstellung „Dialog im Dunkeln“ ist vollkommen lichtlos, weshalb man tatsächlich nichts sieht.

Wie lange dauert eine Tour?

Eine geführte Tour dauert 60 Minuten.

Gehe ich alleine durch die dunkle Ausstellung

Nein, jede Gruppe mit max. 8 Personen wird während der gesamten Führung von einer*m blinden Guide begleitet. Größere Gruppen, z.B. Schulklassen, werden in mehrere Kleingruppen aufgeteilt. Dies dient der Sicherheit und der Qualität deines Besuchs.

Was nehme ich in die Ausstellung mit? Was nicht?

Einen Langstock, den du am Eingang zur Ausstellung bekommst. Wir raten dir, bequeme Schuhe anzuziehen. Für Brillen, Handys, Jacken, Taschen etc. gibt es Schließfächer im Foyer. In der Ausstellung sind alle Gegenstände mit Lichtschein – wie Uhren, Smartphones usw. – verboten. Für die DunkelBar am Ende der Ausstellung benötigst du Kleingeld.

Welche Dinge sind im Dunkeln verboten?

Verboten sind: Feuer, Rauchen, Smartphones und elektronische Geräte, Taschen, Brillen, Kaugummis. Generell alles, was Licht erzeugt.

Was passiert, wenn ich mich verspäte?

Bitte sei 30 Minuten vor Beginn der Führung für das Ticketing, Garderobe etc. im Museum. Wenn deine Tour bereits gestartet ist, können wir aus Sicherheitsgründen leider niemanden mehr nachträglich in die Ausstellung bringen.

Speisen & Getränke

Getränke gibt es in der DunkelBar am Ende deines Ausstellungsbesuchs. Hierfür brauchst du etwas Kleingeld. Während der Corona-Pandemie ist das Verzehren von mitgebrachten Speisen und Getränken im ganzen Museum verboten.   

Gibt es Toiletten im Dunkeln?

Nein, in der Ausstellung gibt es keine Toiletten. Bitte suche die WCs vor der Tour auf. Wer während des Ausstellungsbesuch zur Toilette muss, wird hinausgeführt und kann danach nicht mehr zurück ins Dunkle.

Ab wieviel Jahren ist ein Besuch geeignet?

Ab 7 Jahren. Wenn ihr als Familie das Museum besucht, können auch jüngere Kinder mitkommen. Wichtig ist, dass kein Kind allein im Foyer bleibt, falls es doch nicht in die lichtlose Ausstellung möchte.

Was passiert, wenn ich mich unwohl in der Dunkelheit fühle und die Ausstellung verlassen möchte?

Du kannst jederzeit deinen Ausstellungsbesuch abbrechen und wirst zurück ins Helle begleitet. Keine Sorge, unsere Guides sind für die Ausstellung geschult und vermitteln Sicherheit und Vertrauen.

Wie wird in der dunklen Ausstellung die Sicherheit gewährleistet?

Unsere Ausstellungsräume entsprechen den vorgeschriebenen gesetzlichen Sicherheitsbestimmungen. Unsere Guides sind für den Gang durch die Ausstellung und für Notfälle geschult. Bitte halte dich stets an ihre Hinweise und Anweisungen.

Besteht ein Risiko, wenn ich wieder ins Helle komme?

Es gibt kein gesundheitliches Risiko. Im letzten Ausstellungsraum scheint dämmriges Licht, um deine Augen sanft an die Helligkeit zu gewöhnen.   

Warum wird der KlangRaum überwacht?

Den KlangRaum betrittst du allein, ohne Guide. Aus Sicherheitsgründen befindet sich eine Infrarot-Kamera im Raum, die es unserem Personal ermöglicht, jederzeit bei Notfällen zu handeln und zu helfen. Weitere Informationen findest du in der Datenschutzerklärung. Zudem erhältst du eine Notfallkette mit einem Funkgerät.

Körperliche Beeinträchtigungen & Barrierefreiheit

Rollstuhlfahrer*innen werden von einer*m zusätzlichen Guide durch die Ausstellung gezogen. Für Menschen, die einen E-Rollstuhl nutzen, ist es erforderlich, in einen unserer hauseigenen mechanischen Rollstühle umzusteigen. Dies gilt auch für Besucher*innen mit Gehhilfen. Kontaktiere uns vor deiner Buchung per , um Einzelheiten deines Besuchs zu besprechen. Wir versuchen, alles Notwendige zu tun, um dir unser Ausstellungserlebnis zu ermöglichen. Dies gilt z.B. auch bei Hörbehinderungen, Gehörlosigkeit und Schwangerschaft.

Tickets & Buchungen

Tickets

Dein Museumsbesuch ist nur mit vorherigem Online-Ticketkauf oder bei Gruppen durch digitale/telefonische Vorabreservierung möglich, da jede Tour aus Sicherheits- und Qualitätsgründen von einer*m Guide begleitet wird.

Stornierung & Erstattung

Eine Stornierung oder Erstattung deiner Tickets ist gemäß § 312g Abs. 2 Nr. 9 BGB nicht möglich. Schreibe uns für Kulanzanfragen eine E-Mail an . Ausführliche Informationen findest du in unseren AGBs zum Nachlesen.

Gutscheine

Gutscheine erhältst du im Online-Ticketshop. Sie haben ab Ausstellung eine gesetzliche Gültigkeit von drei Jahren und sind nicht personengebunden. Unter unseren AGBs findest du weitere Informationen zum Gutscheinkauf.  

Führungen in einer anderen Sprache

Momentan bieten wir Touren auf Deutsch, Englisch und Französisch an. Melde dich vor deiner Buchung, um eine Führung in einer bestimmten Sprache anzufragen.